Healthcare reform…

I am a nurse at a large hospital. I work with postpartum mothers. It should be the best place on earth to work. It’s not. Women in America have been told that there should be no pain after childbirth. Doctors are quick to order narcotics for pain, as well they should, IF its warranted. Most of the time, it’s not. My pain scale may be a bit askew because I have had a kidney stone. That is my 10 on the pain scale. Period. I had 16 hours of labor, an emergency C-section, and only took one Vicodin in addition to my scheduled ibuprofen. I’m not a sissy and I didn’t have the expectation that I would have no pain. I sucked it up and acted like a trooper. Also, women act so entitled it disgusts me. They have no respect for nurses and treat us like we are scum and are there to cater to their every whim. I have a degree and could save a life if need be and not just that, I am a freaking human being who should be treated with respect. Don’t get me wrong, I am a very sweet, good nurse until you piss me off, then…well, you’re not gonna get the best care I can give, that’s for sure. I don’t care what kind of insurance someone has, if they are employed, or if they are married or whatever. It doesn’t matter, but if they come in with government benefits out the wazoo and screaming they want their drugs and their sprites and all the formula and diapers I can stuff in the crib drawer, and then chose to be nasty to me, it makes me ill. I do love my job most of the time, but when you are trying to get pregnant and see people like that come in, it just makes me think instead of healthcare reform, there needs to be a society reform….just saying 🙂

Leave a Reply

