UPS trucks are the devil…

This is one of my most vivid memories from childhood. It also makes people laugh so I like to tell it. When I was in kindergarten, I rode the bus to and from school everyday. We had a really long driveway probably about 90 yards long. One beautiful spring day, as I was getting off the bus a big brown van with a stranger that wanted to kidnap me, turned in the driveway behind me. In my five year old mind I could see the horns on the man and the snarling dripping fangs wanting a little girl to grab. They scare the poop out of you at school about stranger danger and kidnappers, so that kicked my little legs into motion. I ran as fast and hard as I could. I remember looking across the huge field over at my neighbor Alma’s house and she and one of my friends were sitting out on the front stoop. I was thinking they must be horrified to be witnessing this event taking place and I wished so bad I could just be sitting over there with them instead of about to never see my mama and daddy again. By the time I got halfway down the driveway tears and snot were flying and I was screaming. I looked down toward my house and saw my mama out on the porch waving at me to hurry and come on. As I finally made it down to the porch, I ran into my mamas arms. She had been waving to me to just move over, the driver had seen that he had scared me and stopped way back at the top of the driveway. It was a very traumatic experience which my family and friends have never let me live down. To this day, every time they see an UPS truck, they tell me to look out.

Leave a Reply

