Honey pies and ice cream

Warning…rather long post today 🙂

In our young married couples Sunday school class, we are reading a book called Love and Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs. I read aloud the first chapter last night and Robert and I talked some about how things are different now in our relationship than the beginning. Lots of differences.

Before we began our reading though, he had mentioned that he wanted a couple of “honey pies” (just waffles with peanut butter and honey on them, but that’s what he calls them). He had slept all afternoon and I’m sure he was hungry and getting ready to go to work at 11.

Well, my mind is crazy right now with some changes going on in life and I totally forgot that he was hungry and didn’t fix him honey pies after I finished reading. He didn’t remind me and so about 10:25 as he was getting his shoes on to leave he said, “you know what I really enjoyed? Those honey pies…”

I felt like dirt.

I’m such a pleaser and I had failed as a wife. He was just joking and picking with me, but it still bothered me.

On his way to work he called to tell me again to not fret over it and that he just wanted to give me a hard time. He then brought up a story of another time I had forgotten something he wanted and how it was used to help another couple we know…

We had been to Winston one day and on our way home, Robert mentioned he would like some McDonald’s ice cream (the boy has an insatiable sweet tooth!!). Well, I drove past Rural Hall exit and he said, “that ice cream is good.” (The boy is a smart-butt too lol) So I told him I would stop by the King exit and get him some. Well, in the 10 minutes it took to get there we had been talking and I totally went right past that exit as well. Then I remembered it and that I didn’t stop and promised to stop at Pilot Mountain.

When we pulled into the driveway at home 45 minutes after we left Winston, guess what I had not done…. I didn’t stop. We have three McDonald’s in Mount Airy as well that I could have went to, but I just didn’t think.

A few days after that, a good friend of mine was talking to me about her at the time boyfriend, which is now her husband. She was saying how she didn’t know if he cared about her sometimes because they had went out to eat and afterwards she told him she really wanted some frozen yogurt. They were talking in the car and got all the way to the house and he had not stopped to get her any. She felt forgotten and that he didn’t care. As soon as she said it, I told her about the ice cream incident and how it surely didn’t mean that I didn’t care about Robert and that I wouldn’t have done anything to please him. Just that sometimes we have too much going on in our heads and can’t do it all.

In my “deepest soul” (from the book we are reading) I never want to make Robert feel disrespected, but I feel like I do sometimes. Like when I forget he wants honey pies and ice cream….thank God he loves me anyway!

************Last day for the contest!!! Leave a comment on the blog for your chance to win************

11 thoughts on “Honey pies and ice cream

  1. I feel the same way. I like to make everyone happy and I hate saying no. Sometimes I feel like I neglect the ones that are most important to me. I am also trying to juggle that area in my life. God is the only one who can help us with this. Great post 😃

  2. now days everyone lives in the fast lane and your brain is in overdrive and dont always do what your suppose to do at the time.

Leave a Reply

