Offensive

It’s been a while, and this one may be a long one….

First of all let me preface this post with this disclaimer….I had WIC and Medicaid when Colby was a baby. I was in school and knew when I graduated and went to work that I would pay back wayyyyy more than I ever took from the government. I have and I am still paying it back…a lot.

Anyway, as I have said before, I am not a political person, but taking out the WIC program is kind of like telling Americas women, infants and children to fend for themselves. While all of this egotistical power trip BS going on in Washington is raging, babies (who didn’t ask to be brought into this world) are going to go without proper food in some cases.

Now, on the flip side of that coin…I can only imagine some of the people I used to care for on mother/baby will be fussing and carrying on about how they can’t make it or what are they going to do….I have a list of things that may help.

1. Stop smoking, yeah for what people pay for three packs of cigarettes will buy one can of formula.
2. Use birth control, if you can’t afford babies, don’t get pregnant (use it anyway because there are some gross STD’s out there too!).
3. Get that sorry baby’s daddy to contribute, they can do more than donate sperm.
4. Don’t make it a lifestyle choice to live off of the government, better yourself.
5. Nails, hairdos, and the best fashions won’t feed your baby, it’s not all about you anymore if you have a child.
6. That’s a really nice iphone you have there, how about getting off it and learn to breastfeed that child so you don’t have to have any formula. (That one is especially for the ladies in the hospital :-))
7. Drugs are not the best choice to spend your money on either…

Well that’s about all I have to say for now. I love my country, but our society is really messed up right now.

6 thoughts on “Offensive

  1. I agree wholeheartedly. I know that my baby sister was a Medicaid baby and on WIC. Dad had lost his job, could not find work, and she was a major OOPS! We ultimately moved to NC because dad could not find a job in Maryland and my grandpa sold the house he had been allowing us to live in. We had no where to go, and no money. So, we moved here and moved in with my other grandparents. This was in 1987 when there were plenty of textile factories open and hiring. But no one would hire a man from out of state. He searched for several weeks and then Dad, the prideful man that he was, finally let go of that pride, went to Social Services for help and was turned down initially. It took 2 months of him searching for work, and documenting his search, before social services would offer any help. As soon as he found a job though, he went back and turned in the food stamps we had not used, and said they could stop their assistance. The people at social services would hear none of it, as they had realized that dad was not mooching the system, and kept assistance going for a few more months so we could get on our feet. That is how the system is supposed to work though. It is not for long term use. I wish people would get that notion out of their head. Government assistance is not long term, and it is not an employment choice. It is last ditch because there is no other option.

    • I agree Amy, there’s a time when people need help, like last year when my mama was diagnosed with breast cancer and then two weeks later daddy got laid off…rough times!! It’s just really askew right now.

Leave a Reply

