Lumped

This is something I have been thinking on writing about for a while and it’s controversial and heated. Let me tell this disclaimer again, if you don’t like what I write, don’t read it. I don’t mind anyone expressing their opinions to me and letting me know their beliefs, that’s our right as Americans, but do it respectfully and without hate.

I am reading a book called The Storyteller by Jodi Piccoult. It’s about the time of the holocaust. There’s a quote in that book that totally defines how I feel about racism and it’s a great definition…”…Besides, if you lump them all together because they’re German, how does that make you any different from the way they lump us all together just because we’re Jews?” Wow. That wrapped up so much of the feelings I have lately about things.

I have chose to not be friends with a black person recently and I really struggled with that decision because I really loved their heart, but they chose to lump me Into the group of “all you white folks” whenever I gave my opinion on something. To me that’s racial prejudice against me. If I had said anything like that to them about “all you black folks” there would have been a much different reaction from them than how I responded. My choice to not talk to them anymore wasn’t based on anything to do with THEIR color, it was how they acted toward me because of mine. I’m not screaming racial injustice like a mad woman, it was just a personal decision I made prayerfully. I believe that person is saved and I’m glad we can have a relationship in Heaven one day and have all these things gone.

I cannot help what happened to black people back in the days of slavery, I wasn’t there. I do not wish to have things like they were back then either. It was an injustice. There have been other people in this world subject to harsh lives as well, look at the Jews. I also can’t help how there is racial inequality and injustice today as well, it’s not my doing. I’m responsible for me and my feelings.

I look at people for who they are inside. I know there are still injustices in the world and they do revolve around others insecurities and prejudices against other races just because of race, which I have no answer for why they do that, but I’m not one of those people. I am a giving, forgiving, loving child of God and see people for what they are…the same as me. A human being who God made with a purpose and a free will.

I believe what my Sunday school teacher said once, racism is from the devil to get people’s eyes off what is important, and that’s seeing souls saved.

So, in closing know this, I don’t care if you’re black, gay, an addict, an alcoholic, or anything else that’s lumped together in a group from society…I love your soul and if you’re nice to me I will be nice to you.

Leave a Reply

