Slip away

Tomorrow marks the day that 13 years ago, I stood by the bedside of my papa as he embarked on his trip to Heaven. It was sad, and scary, and amazing. It felt very surreal as well… I remember the pain he had endured for those six months of battling non-Hodgkins lymphoma. This was a man who had never been to a doctor and pulled his own teeth when they bothered him, he was tough. To see him become so frail and withered, hurt.

20140215-070218.jpg

He loved bluegrass music, tapping me on one shoulder while he was standing on the opposite side to make me look the other way, whistling like a bird, and making crazy squawking noises at me every time I saw him. He was not a man of many words and I don’t remember ever hearing him say I love you to me until a few months before he died. I know he did, he just wasn’t very good with words, I’m sure it had a lot to do with how he grew up. He got saved a few months before he passed, and that was what made the change in him, I believe.

The hurt isn’t as raw as it was at first, routines have changed with him being gone, and we have all adjusted. There will always be a missing part of our lives though, because his presence can never be replaced. He was a good husband, daddy, papa, and man. If you knew him, you liked him.

When he left us, there was such peace, I can’t even describe it. We all knew as we stood there around his hospital bed, when he took that last breath, he was seeing Jesus!! I can’t wait to see everything he’s been seeing now for 13 years, and I can’t wait to see him again too! Miss you Papa Marsh, see you soon…

20140215-070334.jpg

Leave a Reply

